In Memory of our dear friend, Aileen Lau Guek Lin

Next April marks the 20th death anniversary of Aileen Lau Guek Lin, a dear friend to many members of Function 8.

She wrote a collection of poems during a two-year courageous battle against cancer. In memory of her, this blog will carry some of her poems which were published posthumously in Face to Faith in 1994.

My Jaw Muscle and I

My right jaw muscle and I
Have a great big tussle every day
Extremely hard do I try
To open my mouth and keep it that way.

But my jaw muscle would rather
Not put up with the bother
Of keeping my mouth open wide;
So my dental secrets, they can hide.

You see, three molars stood in the way
Of the cancer-infected bone.
So of course, they weren’t allowed to stay.
For three molars gone I won’t moan;

But my jaw muscle thinks otherwise –
I know, as once again I try to prise.

16 August 1992

__________________________________________________________

Multiplication

Tiny, tiny, tiny cells dividing,
Multiplying,
A spark of new life
Heralding the fruit of love’s labour.

A tiny baby.
Tiny, tiny, tiny cells dividing,
Multiplying,
Smacks of disorder

Tolling imminent destruction:
Death by cancer

 13 April 1993

About fn8org

For computers, it means to start again in safe mode. For us, we hope we can also start again in safe mode. But it's more like re-booting our systems and starting from much needed basics for democracy in Singapore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

